The “Left Party” (Die Linke) was founded in 2007 as merger of the primarily East German “Party of Democratic Socialism” (PDS) and the West German “Electoral Alternative for Jobs and Social Justice” (WASG). In the last federal election in September 2013, it became the third strongest party, winning 8.6% of the popular vote and 64 seats in the German Bundestag (36 women and 28 men). The heads of the Left Party’s parliamentary group are Sahra Wagenknecht and Dietmar Bartsch. The party’s current presidents are Katja Kipping and Bernd Riexinger. The Left Party has elected representatives in 10 of the 16 German states and thousands of elected representatives on the county level.

In the European Parliament, the Left Party’s eight members are part of the “Confederal Group of the European United Left/Nordic Green Left” (GUE/NGL).